It’s a Friday night, and you’re out with friends having a few drinks. It begins to get late, and you decide to make the responsible decision not to drive home, so you request an Uber. While heading home, all of a sudden, the driver makes a wrong turn, and you are involved in an accident. As a result of the accident, you suffer extensive injuries, and you’re now asking yourself, what can I do?
Getting involved in an accident due to the negligence of your driver, or the negligence of another, should not be taken lightly. Auto accidents can result in costly medical bills and time off work. You should not be left holding the financial burden because of someone else’s mistake.
Florida is a “No-Fault” insurance state, which means that each victim involved in an accident must go to his or her own auto insurance policy for the first $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits. However, we suggest you first speak to an attorney before contacting your insurance. Allow them to determine if the Uber driver, or the other at-fault party, has enough Bodily Injury insurance to cover the extent of your damages. Let them take responsibility for their mistake.
We also recommend you receive medical treatment as soon as possible, so that a physician may document and evaluate the extent of your injuries. When seeking medical treatment, time is of the essence. This is because under Florida law, an injured victim must be evaluated by a medical professional within 14 days of an accident to establish their claim. Therefore, if involved in an accident, immediately contact an attorney to make certain you are taking all the proper steps after the incident has occurred.
What is Florida’s Ridesharing Law?
Under Florida Statute § 627.748, ridesharing services, such as Uber, Lyft, and Juno, are required to carry at least $1 million of liability coverage for each driver providing their services. Even if the driver is not on the clock, each vehicle used for ridesharing must maintain at least $50,000 in coverage. This includes property damage, bodily injury, and death benefits. Therefore, if hurt in an accident while using a ridesharing service, recovery is likely guaranteed.
Why Choose Alas Tax & Law, P.A.?
We understand that being involved in an accident is never planned. It can be emotionally and physically difficult to deal with, and that is why it is essential to hire an experienced and knowledgeable attorney familiar with these types of cases. In Alas Tax & Law, P.A., we have the experience and knowledge when it comes to dealing with personal injury cases and will work relentlessly to make certain you obtain the compensation you deserve. Our firm has the necessary resources to assist you during these difficult times. You should not fight this alone, and that is why we are here to help.
How Much do I Have to Pay?
Here in Alas Tax & Law, P.A., we understand that the idea of obtaining an attorney can be financially scary. That is why we help accident victims under a contingency fee basis. What this means is that we do not charge any upfront costs and the only time we get paid is if you do!
Therefore, if you or a loved one were recently involved in an accident, contact our firm and let us help you get the compensation you deserve.
For more information, please call (833) 829-6529 or contact us by email!